Of Turkey and French Fries

This Thanksgiving was different. I really didn’t feel like celebrating…or being thankful for that matter. For the past several months, I’ve been writing down 3 (or more) things that I was thankful for that day, and I’m telling you, some days it’s just not easy! Sure, I can be original and put down family, friends, food, water, shelter, etc., but I wanted to be creative and try to go beyond the normal, and find out what God specifically blessed ME with that day.

Anyway, random little bunny trail there (and by the way, this a late blog post, so if it seems like I’m rambling or things don’t make sense, I probably am, and they probably don’t πŸ™‚ ) So back on track now, this Thanksgiving was different, and I didn’t feel in the mood because the plans we had made were shattered. We planned to have a small family gathering here Thanksgiving Day, and while that meant cleaning up the house (a chore that is definitely not my favorite), I was getting excited about seeing and having family over. Then, life happened and the main person fixing the food and getting things ready, got a shoulder injury and the plans were cancelled. (understandably so, and it was in the best interest of all involved, I’m sure. Just a little disappointing)

Then, we got the news that my nephew and niece were being transferred to Children’s Hospital because they were maxed out at the local hospital. The morning was spent lazily at home, and then in the afternoon we went to take some supplies and visit with them a little. Seeing my little nephew lying there in a crib, surrounded by crib walls, sedated by drugs so the oxygen mask they put on him would stay there, and he would stay settled, was not something I would wish on anyone! Hearing his cries and whimpers as the nurses did their thing, and knowing that he doesn’t understand what is going on, just tore at my heart. Not being able to hold him or comfort him or see him give us his silly, ornery faces….Why?? On Thanksgiving Day?? (side note: He is doing amazingly better now, and was grinning, eating, and drinking…Such great news!!)

We got home from the hospital, and on the way, we stopped to pick up fries (our substitute since we didn’t have mashed potatoes. A substitute that is better, in my opinion πŸ™‚ ) We got home, heated up some leftover smoked turkey, and baked the fries, and that was our Thanksgiving dinner.

I’m not saying this for pity. I’m saying this to remind us all, that we have so much to be thankful for. As I examined my attitude about the whole day, I realized my attitude that day was NOT on gratitude, but on how ‘pitied’ we should be. I knew it was wrong, and it was hard to change my viewpoint, but yes, I still did find 3 things to write down that night. While these are not what I wrote down, the more I thought about it, the more things came to mind!

*Cancelled plans=lazy day

*sick nephew and away from family=we at least still have each other to spend time with another day

*no time to make mashed potatoes=fries, a better way to prepare potatoes, in my opinion πŸ™‚

*questions about when dad planted trees=good old reminiscing and laughter through some old diaries of dad’s

*drizzling rain, dreary day=thankful I have a warm house!

So yes, Thanksgiving Day with turkey and fries. It can happen. Days and plans don’t always go like we expect them to, and it’s not always easy to find what to be thankful for, or to choose to be thankful. Will you take the challenge with me to find the abnormal, the unnoticed things and thank God for them?

Leave a Reply

