It Happens Every Year

It’s happening again. It happens every year. The days get shorter, the nights get longer, the days get colder, and the nights get even colder still. Halloween is past, and people start talking “Christmas talk”. I’m not a fan.

The days getting COLDer are what I dislike. The chill in the air and the briskness in the wind make me question my sanity as I wear my flip-flops out in yet another 40* day. I inwardly rebel when I have to finally give up, and wear something thicker and heavier, like…a coat! and…boots!! I also leave my window open in my room as long into the season as I can possibly stand it, because again, I’m inwardly rebelling. I haven’t grown out of it yet, and I’m not sure I ever will. 🙂 It happens every year.

The premature talk of Christmas is what I dislike. I could be called the ‘silent grinch that stole the spirit of Christmas with disdainful looks and snooting of the the nose upon seeing premature lights and hearing premature music’. (Except, that’s kinda a long name, so I’ll just stick with my given name.) I always think within my heart, that Christmas music is meant to be played AFTER Thanksgiving, (which by the way, hasn’t happened this year yet, for some people’s info), but somewhere along the line, my view changes a little and I begin my own Christmas playlist. I begin silently and secretly at first, (after all, I have alot of words coming back to bite me) and then become more bold, and ‘Christmas spirit-y’. It happens every year.

The facebook posts are insane!! ‘Oh look, I put up my Christmas tree!!’ ‘Oh look, our lights are up!’ ‘Christmas music was playing in my house today!!’ It happens every year.

The stores are too ‘people-busy’ for an introvert like me. I was out yesterday, and it was almost enough to make me go into hiding until this craziness is past. When I go to a store, I want to get my stuff and get out! These people-y lines……?? No, thank-you! It happens every year.

Don’t get me wrong..By the time Christmas comes around..(truly to honest goodness, ACTUALLY comes around) I’m fine. My spirit is normally great, and I’m the one singing along at the top of my lungs to Christmas carols. I’m not saying Christmas is wrong, or we shouldn’t celebrate it, that’s not my intent on this post at all.

I wonder though, so many nights ago, when the babe was placed in a manger, they were not thinking of all they had to do, and who all to shop for. They were not planning a Christmas feast for family and friends–they had everything they needed right there with them. They were not groaning about the animal’s carols surrounding their ears, and complaining how it’s not the right timing–too early or too late. They didn’t worry about how many lights to put up around the stable, or how they were ever going to drag a tree in that tiny room. They were simply basking in the glory of the One before them. They were marveling in His precious light. They were simply silent in awe and worship before the One who had made them all. This was not something that happens every year.

So do me a favor this year, and in return I’ll try not to be ‘silent grinch that stole the spirit of Christmas with disdainful looks and snooting of the the nose upon seeing premature lights and hearing premature music’. Promise me that when you see people like me who aren’t quite as ‘Christmas/winter fanatic’ as you are, that you will *try to* remember it may not be the season we are snubbing, but the way and time people are celebrating it. Promise me that you will realize God loves us all, winter or summer fanatics, Christmas or Easter zealots. In all the hustle and bustle of the season, and in all the ‘new-fangled’ ways we celebrate these days, promise me that you will take at least one moment and bask in the glory of the One who made this all possible. Promise me that you will be silent in awe and worship before the One who created everything you see. Yes, it happens every year, but will this be the one year it will be different for you and me?

IMG_0967

 

Leave a Reply

