Overused Clichés–just for fun

I  ‘totes’ did not see me ever writing a blog. When I was in school, I avoided writing ‘like the plague.’  I wrote because ‘hashtag teacher made me’. (yes, I realize I just wrote hashtag rather using the symbol). I always heard that everything ‘happens for a reason’, but this didn’t help my ‘attitude issues’. In fact, I’m sure my teacher thought I needed a ‘kick in the pants’ or a good solid ‘attitude adjustment’. (Come to think of it, these two sort of happen together 🙂 .)

I should’ve had the attitude of, ‘you got this, girl’ even though thinking about it almost drove me to the ‘depths of despair’. Sometimes I forgot that ‘haste makes waste’ and hurriedly ‘jotted down a few words’ hoping I could still ‘make the grade’. The teacher signed the reports, so it was as if I didn’t have ‘a care in the world’.

Then one day, the ‘tables were turned’. I stood at the front of my own class ‘scared half to death’. (I couldn’t tell you how many times that has happened to me, it’s a wonder I’m still alive!) Excitement was also ‘bubbling over’, but I soon realized that ‘what goes around comes around’. Now I was dealing with the half-hearted ‘diamonds in the rough’, the one that I used to be. (Have you ever had to ‘eat your words’? They fill you up pretty fast!)  I had to remember that ‘every cloud has a silver lining’, and that ‘this too shall pass’.

At times it felt like I was ‘banging my head against a brick wall’ as I ‘bent over backwards’ trying to teach them all sorts of things, including that there is ‘more than one way to skin a cat’. But I ‘put my best foot forward’, and soon they were changing from ‘rags to riches’.

Sometime soon, (it must’ve been that banging against a brick wall), I decided to ‘kill two birds with one stone’. I decided me and writing did not have a ‘love at first sight’, but rather we were believers in ‘second chances’. So, I put my love for teaching and love of writing into one and began to try to ‘leave my mark’ in the writing world. ‘Better late than never’!

I decided to ‘shoot for the moon’, because even if I would never be ‘rich and famous’, I thought I could ‘give it my best shot’ and ‘seize the day’. After all, ‘YOLO’!! 😀

 

4 thoughts on “Overused Clichés–just for fun

  1. Ha Katie!! I loved this! It kinda set my teeth on edge to read it but it’s absolutely brilliant!! You definitely have ‘the gift’ 😉

    On Sun, Sep 11, 2016 at 6:06 PM, hello to lifes adventures wrote:

    > Katie Eash posted: “I ‘totes’ did not see me ever writing a blog. When I > was in school, I avoided writing ‘like the plague.’ I wrote because > ‘hashtag teacher made me’. (yes, I realize I just wrote hashtag rather > using the symbol). I always heard that everything ‘happens fo” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

