Which Are You?

I am someone who is searching. Searching for truth, searching for meaning in life. I saw you in the Wal-Mart parking lot as you pulled into a parking space. Your car had a bumper sticker on it saying, J-Jesus, O-Others, Y-You. You crawled out of your car, modestly dressed compared to the low standards of the world today. I decided to chance it. I walked over to you, and asked about what you believe, because outwardly there was something different.

We talked for awhile and you told me how Jesus saved you from your sin, and how He is living in your heart. You invited me to church, but the whole time you kept glancing at your phone and the Wal-Mart entrance; it seemed to me you were looking for a quick escape. I took the hint. I let you go, and I followed you into the store to do shopping of my own.

I saw how you hurried through the shopping, a smile toward others never once showing on your face. I saw you rush in front of others, trying to get what you wanted. I watched you from afar.

You were obviously too busy to care about that middle letter of your bumper sticker.

So busy were you at getting your shopping done, you didn’t see that I still had questions. My heart was troubled by this time, because you were giving me mixed signals. I saw how the old lady behind you was just a little too slow to get in front of you in line. You slipped in front of her with your cart load overflowing with groceries, and she was struggling to carry the 15 small things in her basket.

I saw you shove the money in the cashier’s face, never once meeting her eyes. Never once seeing her heart was hurt. You didn’t care that she just got the news her father found out he had cancer. With tears almost overflowing into her speech, she told you to have a nice day. You looked at her with a hurried glance, then strode off, quickly checking your list of things to do next.

Sad, upset, and utterly confused by now….almost angry at how someone who says she is a Christian can turn around and act like that, I gathered my groceries and headed out to my car. I climbed in, pondering my next step in life, when there it was…that same car, with the same bumper sticker. I ended up right beside you just as the light turned red. I saw you huff a sigh of impatience as your plans were ruined once again..this time by a red light. The light turned green, and the car in front of you didn’t go quite as quick as you would’ve liked, so angrily you honked your horn, and I could tell you were yelling at them. No, I didn’t hear what you said, but I’m sure they weren’t swear words–just angry “Christian” phrases muttered under your breath.

Come to think of it, you were only concerned about that last letter.

You made me realize I’m ok with what I have. I don’t have need for anything else.


I am someone who is searching. Searching for truth, searching for meaning in life. I saw you in the Wal-Mart parking lot as you pulled into a parking space. Your car had a bumper sticker on it saying, J-Jesus, O-Others, Y-You. You crawled out of your car, modestly dressed compared to the low standards of the world today. I decided to chance it. I walked over to you, and asked about what you believe, because outwardly there was something different.

Your smile was genuine as your eyes met mine. It seemed you were able to see into my soul–right to where my hurting heart was. You answered my questions, and yes, there were many!! You showed me verses from the Bible; some you had memorized. “Yes,” I thought, “maybe this is what I’m seeking.” You invited me to come to church that Sunday. I really thought I might. We parted with warm smiles as we went to do our shopping. For the first time in years, my heart had hope!

You obviously cared very much about that first letter. This “Jesus” meant something to you.

I followed you in as we started our shopping. Everyone that met your eye received a warm smile, because it seemed it was a permanent part of you. There was a radiance about you that I’ve never seen in anyone before. I saw when someone butted in front of you. You shook your head, but then a slow grin spread to your face. It seemed you knew the secret–the secret that hurrying around in life doesn’t really get you very far.

I saw how you let the young mom with a cart full of groceries (and kids) go in front of you. You probably were thinking of how on any normal day that would actually be you. You greeted the cashier with a warm smile, asking her how her day was going and noticing she seemed really excited about something. She told you this was her last day of work before a much needed weeklong vacation, and you wished her the best. You walked out of the store looking as if you had all the time in the world, and yet I know the truth–none of us do.

I soon followed you to the parking lot again. With a wave to me, you were off. I saw how you let that beat-up Cadillac with the poor, dirty looking driver go before you. I heard as we pulled off, and your windows were rolled down–peaceful music–and yes, there you were, singing at the top of your lungs.

I see how this works: When you put Jesus first, then is when you love to care for others way ahead of yourself.

This may just be what I’ve been missing. I think maybe I’ve found the missing piece to my broken, messed-up life.


So, WHICH ARE YOU?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Which Are You?

  1. Wow Katie!! I really like it . . . I love reading all your posts actually! You have an amazing way of putting into words what you are thinking that lets other people feel exactly what you are feeling! It’s a gift!! Keep using it.

    Love ya, Mel

    On Wed, Jun 15, 2016 at 8:07 PM, hello to lifes adventures wrote:

    > Katie Eash posted: “I am someone who is searching. Searching for truth, > searching for meaning in life. I saw you in the Wal-Mart parking lot as you > pulled into a parking space. Your car had a bumper sticker on it saying, > J-Jesus, O-Others, Y-You. You crawled out of your car,” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

